Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: maytag washer atlantis oversze capacity plus heavy duty 5 speed select stainless  (Read 5943 times)

Offline pallanesfour

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 166
  • Country: us

the washer puts water in the tube and agitates but does not spin when i lift the lid it stops agitating when i close the lid it starts agatating again but it dosent sping on any cycle and the pump feels good and theres no sound when i put it on spin not evan a humm ???

Model mav8551aww

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8809
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
I would be a leaning on dat old Thrust bearing kit replacement theory.
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline jumptrout51

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1879
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
If you rotate the timer to spin and turn it on. Does it spin?
Take a Kid fishing.

Offline pallanesfour

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 166
  • Country: us
when i rotate the timer to all spin cycles not evan the motor starts but when it fills with water it does agitate but no spin not evan a buss or humm ???

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3023
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Replace the lid switch.

"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline pallanesfour

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 166
  • Country: us
i tried a new lid switch and that wasnt it

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3023
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Then your timer has failed. I always pop a new lid switch in there to see first, since they are so cheap and usually solve the problem.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline pallanesfour

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 166
  • Country: us
thank you your awesome that was it :rofl: :2funny: O0