Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Disclosure: This website contains affiliate links, Meaning I get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through my links, at no cost to you.

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: kitchenaid KEBK171SSS04 Raises to preheat temperature once then stops heating  (Read 192 times)

Offline zmotion

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 5

kitchenaid KEBK171SSS04 Raises to preheat temperature once then stops heating. Oven display stays on. You can activate oven again it will do exact same thing. Sensor ohms well, appliance manager replaced, same problem persists.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2019, 10:59:34 AM by zmotion »

Offline tcarmen

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2018
  • Posts: 76
How low does the temperature drop?

Preheat overshoots quite a bit and then it takes a while for the oven to drop to the actual setpoint.

If you don't touch it does it go back to it's original "off" temperature?


Offline zmotion

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 5
How low does the temperature drop?

Preheat overshoots quite a bit and then it takes a while for the oven to drop to the actual setpoint.

If you don't touch it does it go back to it's original "off" temperature?

@ setting 350 it spikes once to almost 360 degrees, then no more heat. The unit completely cools down. If restarted the unit will do the exact same thing again.

Offline tcarmen

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2018
  • Posts: 76
That's new. 8-)

Can you get the diagnostic code(s)?

Press "off"

Then press

* OFF
* OFF
* START

Does it show anything in the left 2 digits and right 2 digits?



Offline manden

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 277
Below is a link to a service manual which may be useful to you.
https://www.appliancejunk.com/forums/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;id=140

Offline zmotion

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 5
That's new. 8-)

Can you get the diagnostic code(s)?

Press "off"

Then press

* OFF
* OFF
* START

Does it show anything in the left 2 digits and right 2 digits?

Thanks for your reply. Diagnostic code punched in, no fault codes present.

Offline zmotion

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 5
Below is a link to a service manual which may be useful to you.
https://www.appliancejunk.com/forums/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;id=140

Thank you for the service manual link.

Offline tcarmen

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2018
  • Posts: 76
That's really weird.

I noticed that the tech sheet mentions to check the connectors for corrosion. I don't know if that's juts boilerplate text that I missed before, or if they're actually having corrosion problems.

Terry