Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: Carrier Suddenly Won't Heat  (Read 2453 times)

Offline al10

• VIP Member
Carrier Suddenly Won't Heat
« on: December 14, 2017, 03:00:50 AM »

Carrier suddenly won't heat, but air conditioning is fine.  Fan works, auto works with air conditioning, not heat.  Thermostat number seems stuck around 70 degrees.  It is a mercury thermostat.  Cannot afford service person right now and it is cold, need heat.  Thanks.

Offline manden

• VIP Member
Re: Carrier Suddenly Won't Heat
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2017, 09:27:36 AM »
Please note that I am not a pro at this.

I think you will have to give more info. re model numbers, symptoms etc .

I am assuming that the furnace does not fire up.
If it does for a short time then shuts off without the fan coming on then you need a new temperature regulation module on the furnace.
I am not sure that is what it is called but it turns the fan on once the heat exchanger reaches a preset set point. Also keeps the fan on after the furnace shuts off until the unit is cool.

I am not sure what you mean by the thermostat is stuck at 70.
If this is mechanical (you physically cannot adjust it higher), then I would say that the thermostat is toast.

You could figure out which two wires are for heat and then short them to see if the furnace fires up or remove the cover and gently move the mercury switch till it closes.
If the above works then replace the thermostat.

If this is an older furnace check that the pilot is on.
If not then it may just need relighting or a new thermocouple

Offline al10

• VIP Member
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2017, 03:51:47 PM »