Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Disclosure: This website contains affiliate links, Meaning I get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through my links, at no cost to you.

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: Just Bought Speed Queen Washer. Your Thoughts: Prev Maintenance and Tools  (Read 848 times)

Offline giants1

• VIP Member

Hi,

I have a 2012 Samsung front loading washer that's leaking from the left rear.  This is consistent with the water drain pump and/or hoses going out.  Sadly, the extended warranty just expired and I've been gentle with it.

If you've seen my other thread (I'm a newbie to this forum and to fixing washers and dryers), you're aware that I'm having a frustrating, intermittent problem with my 2002 Kenmore 80 Series (aka Whirlpool 29") gas dryer.  Forum members have been educating me about dryers and I've been doing reading to learn how they work and how to fix them.

Two days ago, I bought a Speed Queen.  Delivery should be by the end of next week.

It's a top-loader with mechanical dials.  Here's the model number:

AWN432SP113TW04

and a link to specs:

https://www.speedqueen.com/products/top-load-washers.aspx?mn=AWN432SP113TW04#build-your-own

I'm willing to do preventive maintenance (eg clean lint screen and ducts), but I don't want the drama of an intermittent problem like I'm having with my Kenmore dryer..

I run about one load per week with some clothes very dirty due to working on my car and the house.

I live in an area prone to rust (eg hand tools rust quickly), but it's not cost-effective to run a dehumidifier.  My current washer and dryer has some surface rust, probably due to dings/scratches (although my Samsung had a circular rust spot on top, so I must have set something obnoxious on there).