Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Disclosure: This website contains affiliate links, Meaning I get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through my links, at no cost to you.

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: Ice Forming Under Freezer Drawer in Samsung RF4287HARS French Door Fridge  (Read 18362 times)

Offline annekreel

• VIP Member

I have ice building up in the bottom of the freezer compartment on my Samsung RF4287HARS French Door Refrigerator, below the pull out drawer. It will build up to about 3/4"-1" thick and then impedes the closing of the door. Every 4-6 weeks, I need to remove the freezer drawer, melt and chop the ice and put everything back in. I have been doing this for three years on a 5 year old fridge. Samsung Customer Service is ABSOLUTELY NO HELP.

What causes this? And can I fix it myself?

Offline domain

• Technician
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Evap drain likely is frozen. check it behind evap panel freezer

Offline mz3own

• Technician
clogged defrost drain. need hot water to melt build up.
Then pull fridge out, remove back cover on the right side you will see two drain tubes remove those and clean them out of dust and debri. Put back together

Offline annekreel

• VIP Member
Domain, the evap drain is inside the freezer behind the drawer, correct?

mz3own, the defrost drain in accessed behind the fridge, correct?

Offline annekreel

• VIP Member
I should add that we replaced the ice maker about 3 months ago. While the old ice maker was broken, the ice did not form in the bottom of the freezer. As soon as we replaced it, the ice started forming again.

Offline mz3own

• Technician
Domain, the evap drain is inside the freezer behind the drawer, correct?

mz3own, the defrost drain in accessed behind the fridge, correct?