Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Disclosure: This website contains affiliate links, Meaning I get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through my links, at no cost to you.

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: GE unitized washer/dryer - Error "Blocked Motor"  (Read 5470 times)

Offline 1blacklab

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 5
GE unitized washer/dryer - Error "Blocked Motor"
« on: September 15, 2015, 08:51:01 PM »

This is my first post and hopefully, my last. I have a GE unitized washer/dryer GTUN275EM0WW in a rental unit and the spin cycle does not spin fast enough to remove the water from the clothes. I ran a diagnostic that I found how to do on the internet, and I received an error code that was "Motor Blocked". I googled this and found absolutely nothing.

Any help would be appreciated. Because this is our rental, I am trying to save some money and do this myself.

Thanks!

Offline scrapiron

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 689
  • Country: us
  • Service Tech Since 1974
Re: GE unitized washer/dryer - Error "Blocked Motor"
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2015, 10:55:10 PM »
My best guess is that clothing went over the top of the basket and is stuck between the basket and outer tub

Offline olyteddy

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 532
  • Country: us
Re: GE unitized washer/dryer - Error "Blocked Motor"
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2015, 10:57:35 PM »
Often as not this indicates that the rotation encoder isn't reading the motor turning. Follow the instructions in this post to find  service presentation on this model: http://appliancejunk.com/forums/index.php?topic=12032.0 . Once in the Google Drive search for GTUP ( I know your model is a GTUN but it's pretty much identical). You can also search the web for GE manual 31-9208. There is also a 'mini manual' behind the large panel above the washer and below the dryer.

EDIT: Here's a link to 31-9208: http://appliancejunk.com/forums/index.php?topic=16911.0
« Last Edit: September 15, 2015, 10:59:16 PM by olyteddy »

Offline 1blacklab

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 5
Re: GE unitized washer/dryer - Error "Blocked Motor"
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2015, 11:10:03 PM »
I replaced the motor and the speed sensor, and it did not fix it.

I was able to manually pull down on the shifter hub just before it went into spin, and it would go into a full speed spin cycle, because the fork assembly is not doing it on its own.
I am now thinking that the fork assembly is faulty, primarily the wax motor not fully expanding the fork.

Any thoughts?

Offline domain

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 2610
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: GE unitized washer/dryer - Error "Blocked Motor"
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2015, 09:40:07 AM »
Sounds like you are on the correct path. Remove power and wires from wax motor,  on ohms setting it should be 1k to 2k ohms roughly. If its ok check for 120vac to the wax motor

Offline 1blacklab

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 5
Re: GE unitized washer/dryer - Error "Blocked Motor"
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2015, 06:36:21 PM »
Ohms were good. Voltage was pretty low. Nowhere near 120v. Now what?

Offline 1blacklab

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 5
Re: GE unitized washer/dryer - Error "Blocked Motor"
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2015, 06:39:41 PM »
The fork is opening partially , but not fully so that the teeth ingage for the drum to spin at full speed.

Offline 1blacklab

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 5
Re: GE unitized washer/dryer - Error "Blocked Motor"
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2015, 03:36:18 PM »
I was incorrect about the voltage, it is fine.

It appears that the problem is, that the previous owner I purchased this from (bad Craigslist purchase, "It works fine!") did not tighten the hub nut fully, so even though the wax motor/fork assembly is opening fully, it can't engage the shifter hub to go into full spin.

My question is, how can I tighten the nut? I don't see a way to keep the shaft from spinning when trying to tighten it. The transmission pulley is solid, so I can't put a wrench though it to brace it.