Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Disclosure: This website contains affiliate links, Meaning I get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through my links, at no cost to you.

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: Wanting to get in the trade  (Read 2784 times)

Offline Aaronwilliams

• VIP Member
Wanting to get in the trade
« on: June 13, 2015, 12:18:38 AM »

Hello, I am wanting to start appliance repair. I have a Hvac license and I love working on things. I have done carpentry and plumbing.  The problem is no one will let me work with them because I have no experience.  Any ideas? Thanks

Offline mz3own

• Technician
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Wanting to get in the trade
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2015, 07:09:05 AM »
talk to the guys at the supply house counter. They hear from a lot of techs and they might be able to point you in the direction of a company/person willing to take you on.
I was in the same situation, what I did to get my foot in the door was to offer a ride along for a few days so the owner and other techs could get a feel for my abilities. After a few days I was offered the position. I'm now hold the highest completion rate in the company on first calls.
Good luck and welcome

Offline Aaronwilliams

• VIP Member
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2015, 02:18:56 AM »
There are only two repair places in my town. Would you suggest trying to do my own work on the side?

Offline rbmappltech

• Technician
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2015, 08:10:14 PM »
You can work for A&E Factory Service to get some hard fought experience on fixing appliances. 

Offline Aaronwilliams

• VIP Member
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2015, 08:11:26 PM »
What's A&E?

Offline mz3own

• Technician
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2015, 08:29:09 PM »

Offline Maintech

• Technician
  • LNM Service and Repair LLC.
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2015, 05:56:49 PM »