Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Disclosure: This website contains affiliate links, Meaning I get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through my links, at no cost to you.

Your Privacy Rights

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: 4 year old Insinkerator garbage disposal is not acting right....  (Read 1959 times)

Offline NJ Mom

• VIP Member

Again I thank you all in advance.  I am a very fresh newbie compared to you.

We have a 4 year old Insinkerator 3/4 HP.  It was actually bought to replace the previous one that our contractor threw out with the old kitchen sink.  We haven't had problems till this week, and I am expecting a whole bunch of company this weekend, so any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

The garbage disposal has suddenly started to act up.  It makes a low hum, but doesn't grind up anything.  The NJ Dad reset the button on the bottom and got it back to working a couple of times last week (we don't use it every day).  Today, he was down there again, using a hex wrench and telling me that there was nothing blocking the mechanism (I checked from above, there were only a few veggies down there).  He got it started, and we tossed some ice in ( we had a problem with it getting stuck a couple of years ago, a serviceman came out, threw about 5 cubes of ice down there, got it started.  He was kind enough to not charge us for the visit).