Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Disclosure: This website contains affiliate links, Meaning I get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through my links, at no cost to you.

Your Privacy Rights

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: 240v wiring in phase?  (Read 4371 times)

Offline vitruvius

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 3
240v wiring in phase?
« on: November 24, 2014, 05:24:31 PM »

Hi there,

I've just installed an electric wall oven and am having some trouble with the wiring. I'd be really grateful if any of you have ideas.

After installing a new mini dual-pole 240v breaker and wiring in the oven, nothing happens at all--no lights go on, the panel stays dark, etc. Testing the connection at the back of the oven with a voltmeter, I read 120v across live-ground, 120v across the other live-ground, and zero volts across the two live wires (should be 240v). This suggests to me that the two live wires are in phase, rather than split-phase, and they're canceling each other to zero volts instead of adding to 240v.

The new dual-pole breaker is installed next to two other dual-pole breakers that supply my house's electric heat, which seems to be working fine, so I think the rails are functioning properly.

Any idea what's going on, and how I could fix the problem? I need the oven to make Thanksgiving dinner!

Offline DaleCaskanette

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 274
  • Country: ca
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2014, 05:37:20 PM »
most panels have a bakelite seperator where you plug in the breaker so you access the 2 phases  some panels only have specific locations where you can plug in a breaker to get 220  try removing the breaker and move it down one slot and measure for 220

Offline vitruvius

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 3
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2014, 05:40:07 PM »
Thanks! I'll give that a try when I'm back home in about an hour.

Offline ticat900

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 13
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2014, 06:06:46 PM »
most panels have a bakelite seperator where you plug in the breaker so you access the 2 phases  some panels only have specific locations where you can plug in a breaker to get 220  try removing the breaker and move it down one slot and measure for 220

but the guy is getting 120V at the stove on the red and on the black  so breaker would have nothing to do with it The way I understand
240V? what am I not understanding? I have hooked up 240V acouple times and simply plugged the double breaker into the panel
hooked red to one breaker and the black to the other. White to neutral/ground and all is well
« Last Edit: November 24, 2014, 06:13:13 PM by ticat900 »

Offline DaleCaskanette

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 274
  • Country: ca
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2014, 06:15:54 PM »
i am an appliance tech, have a g2 and gas pipe fitter ticket and apprenticed as an electrician . taught electricity at nights in a high school .   i am telling you the breaker is in the wrong location in the panel.

Offline DaleCaskanette

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 274
  • Country: ca
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2014, 06:18:26 PM »
red and black wires are on the same bus bar and you only get 120 from black to white or red to white and black to red will be 0


red wire has to be on 1 bus bar and black on the other to get 220 from red to black

Offline ticat900

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 13
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2014, 06:26:41 PM »
red and black wires are on the same bus bar and you only get 120 from black to white or red to white and black to red will be 0


red wire has to be on 1 bus bar and black on the other to get 220 from red to black

I cant argue as iam simply a JOALT electrician guy.I must have got lucky as I just wired my outshed with 240V and I pluged a 40 amp 240V breaker into the garage subpanel and ran 240 ft of wire and installed a MINI sub panel with a 30 amp 240V breaker to run compressor and it worked fine?

Offline ticat900

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 13
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2014, 06:29:58 PM »
Dale take a look at my stove problem post 2 down from this one please maybe this is my friends problem also as I can get his stove to work
even though we have power to it. I have same problem no panel illumination and no oven lites etc no nothing
thought it was the control board  and installed new one  because there is 120V to panel
« Last Edit: November 24, 2014, 06:40:06 PM by ticat900 »

Offline DaleCaskanette

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 274
  • Country: ca
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2014, 06:39:49 PM »
ticat 900 i may have seemed a little irritated with your comment but you have no idea how often i have had to argue with electricians and finally have to pull the front off the panel to show then

Offline ticat900

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 13
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2014, 06:41:42 PM »
ticat 900 i may have seemed a little irritated with your comment but you have no idea how often i have had to argue with electricians and finally have to pull the front off the panel to show then

no no that's ok Like my post says I must have got lucky as I never knew that at all.  please read my post about my delema and see if you have any ideas  PLEASE iam STUCK

Offline theoldstoveguy

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 1694
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2014, 08:59:27 PM »
Is there a neutral connected? You stated hot to ground and hot to ground but didn't mention whether it had a neutral. Clocks and such need a neutral to function.

Offline ticat900

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 13
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2014, 10:16:39 PM »
Is there a neutral connected? You stated hot to ground and hot to ground but didn't mention whether it had a neutral. Clocks and such need a neutral to function.

yes there is  hot to ground hot to neutral same thing really

Offline vitruvius

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 3
Re: 240v wiring in phase?
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2014, 02:04:06 PM »
Remarkably, the problem was two faulty circuit breakers in a row. The other 240v breakers were working, so we knew the rails weren't the problem, and moving the problem breaker around didn't do anything. Finally trying yet another new breaker did the trick.

Thanks for your help everyone!