Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: Maytag centennial top load washer fills with water when the spin cycle is ending  (Read 13085 times)

Offline alimunib83

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us

I have a maytag centennial washer that fills with water towards the end of the spin cycle roughly about 25 secs b4 it ends and leaves water in the clothes at the end of the cycle as if its going to extra rinse. Although the extra rinse is turned off, just to make sure if extra rinse switch wasn't causing the problem I unplugged it but still same problem. Somebody told me it could be the bad timer I replaced it but still the same problem exists. I would really appreciate any professional help on the problem.

Ali

Offline LowSL2

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 1244
  • Country: us
  • My cuss. A LOT.
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Model number please.

If it's a direct drive, it might be the ATC switch. But will need the model number to be sure.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

LowSL2
18+ Years of Professional Appliance Repair Experience
Former $ears/a$e tech

Offline alimunib83

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Model # Mvwc6esww1
Ser     # cy4440359

Offline fairbank56

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 529
  • Country: us

  Bad water level/temp controller. High failure item. Complain to Whirlpool.

http://www.appliancepartspros.com/whirlpool-temperature-switch-w10248240-ap4459660.html

Eric

Offline jumptrout51

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1879
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
I had a couple where I disconnected,then reconnected the ATC and they are still working.
In any event it is the ATC.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2013, 06:57:15 AM by jumptrout51 »
Take a Kid fishing.

Offline alimunib83

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Anyone can tell me how to become a technician member on this forum

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 10973
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair

Offline haroldsappliance

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 741
  • Country: us
    • Appliance repair
I had a couple where I disconnected,then reconnected the ATC and they are still working.
In any event it is the ATC.

Same here, never a call back!

Offline dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 4760
  • Country: us
Same here too.Disconnected plastic tube blew through it back to the tub and never had a call back.Even own one and it happen to me.Stock the part though.And i know of two different part numbers as there seems to be only two for different models that i know of.And stock both.

Offline dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 4760
  • Country: us
Found this on appliance parts pro site.

Offline msta999

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 4
I am having the same problem, question: What is the ATC switch? I try'd looking it up, but didn't come up with anything for sure. "Automatic Temperature Control"????

Offline Bailey

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 809
  • Country: us
Open up the console. It is the part with the plastic tube attached to it.

Offline msta999

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 4
Thanks, I'll try unplugging it and plug it back in and see if it starts working, other wise I'll replace it.

Offline dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 4760
  • Country: us
Also take off the hose and blow through the hose back into tub.Then reconnect.Whats the model number of washer?
« Last Edit: December 15, 2014, 12:16:47 PM by dab147315 »

Offline nolling43

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: us
REPLACE THE ATC AND THE EXTRA RINSE SWITCH. IF IT STILL DOES IT, REPLACE THE TIMER, PER WHIRLPOOL TECH-ASSIST. BIN THERE, DONE THAT.

Offline msta999

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 4
how do you get the panel off to access the switches? Looks like the end covers need to come off first, but not sure. I started to look at it, but got called away. Mine does not have the lights under the dial.

Offline dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 4760
  • Country: us
This video show how to get to the switches. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sga33AjuXTM

Offline msta999

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 4
Thanks, I just got to it. I took the hose off and blew through it, it was clear, no restrictions and unplugged the switch and plugged it back in. We'll see if it works tomorrow.

Great forum, really full of useful info and help. Thanks Guys.