ApplianceJunk.com

Forum Index => Heating & Air Conditioning Repair (HVAC) => Topic started by: ryan111 on September 24, 2010, 02:18:05 PM

Title: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem. urka-a060jk10e
Post by: ryan111 on September 24, 2010, 02:18:05 PM
I am not an air-condition tech but naturally when the air when out at the shop they sent me on the roof to work on it. If you work on refrigerators you work on air-conditioners right!!! Lol

Best I can tell the compressor is bad but I would like a consult. Here is what I found.

The compressor will try to run but cut off within a few seconds. The start capacitor checks out ok. The compressor windings show continuity and it are not grounded out. The compressor draws over 100 amps when it tries to start but it never gets to lock rotor amperage, which is 144 amps. I halfway feel like it may be pulling 144 amps but it is cutting off on the overload before my meter reads it but I am not sure on that.

It is a Ruud Model number urka-a060jk10e

Does anyone think that it may be something other than the compresssor?

Does anyone agree that I have a compressro problem.
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: JWWebster on September 24, 2010, 05:22:24 PM
100 amps? That's a little excessive.
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: jumptrout51 on September 24, 2010, 06:41:40 PM
The run winding may need a little boost.
Add a hard start to the capacitor and try it.
100 out of 144 is not too bad.
That is LRA for start.
The run winding is the issue here.
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: ryan111 on September 24, 2010, 08:02:09 PM
Thanks for the replies!

I will try the hard to start capacitor if it works it will be better than a compressor. I do have one question. I have always regarded hard-to-start capacitors as a temporary fix (just buying time). Again I am not a HVAC guy at all but I wouldn’t use this on a refrigerator or a window unit (although I know some techs do) . But is it different with a large unit such as this? I mean can this be a permanent solution?
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: JWWebster on September 25, 2010, 10:33:39 AM
That is debatable. Some say piggybacking a hard start on a unit just gets it to the grave where it is already headed. However it may be more of a great way to delay the inevitable and that is compressor swap-out. I have sold a bunch of them hardstarts over the years. I got one on my home unit. Been on there 3 or 4 years.
I replaced the factory cap with a new exact rating cap and the sad old compressor on my Miller 3 ton unit would not behave. So I added a Hardstart to it and it has been working so far. I am going for a solar assisted heat pump and saying bye bye to my gas furnace one day.
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: jumptrout51 on September 25, 2010, 05:45:04 PM
In the olden days,hard starts were factory installed on all units.
Compressors,regardless of age can be tight.
Hard starts give the extra boost to overcome tight.
I have put hardstarts on compressors 15 years ago that are running fine to this day.
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: Earl Dryer on September 25, 2010, 08:54:42 PM
144 amps is a little hard on 40 or 50 amp circuit breaker ain't it? Are you sure that you are not low on gas and the pressure switch is not kicking it out?
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: jumptrout51 on September 26, 2010, 06:43:25 AM
The LRA on a compressor last only a fraction of a second.
It is normal as long as the LRA does not exceed the specs.
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: Repair-man on September 26, 2010, 07:13:38 AM
Probably a faulty run cap.
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: ryan111 on October 01, 2010, 12:52:17 PM
I put the hard to start on and got the same result. So now I assume this compressor is bad.

Thanks for the replies.
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: JWWebster on October 01, 2010, 02:53:15 PM
Keep the HS in your tools for future testing.
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: jumptrout51 on October 01, 2010, 06:01:13 PM
If the hard start did not work,your compressor is locked up.
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: Icehouse on October 02, 2010, 09:13:51 PM
 O0 Try "Rocking" the compressor. To do this, switch the wires to the RUN and START terminals on the compressor and rapidly turn the disconnect on then off.
This was available with the "Hermetic Analyzer" ( a built in rocker switch).

http://www.ueitest.com/product-ha1.html
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: jumptrout51 on October 03, 2010, 07:30:23 AM
Couldn't this be done at the control panel by switching the S/R wires at the cap?
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: Icehouse on October 03, 2010, 12:53:20 PM
Couldn't this be done at the control panel by switching the S/R wires at the cap?
Good point to address. As far as I was taught at Carrier "At the Compressor".
Title: Re: Ruud Air-condition possible compressor problem.
Post by: jumptrout51 on October 03, 2010, 06:22:06 PM
Just curious.
Seems less labor intense.