ApplianceJunk.com

Forum Index => Heating & Air Conditioning Repair (HVAC) => Topic started by: Jerry64 on August 05, 2010, 02:13:23 PM

Title: Thermostat wire
Post by: Jerry64 on August 05, 2010, 02:13:23 PM
Installing the new furnace and am replacing the T wire to the furnace.Is it o.k. to use wire like the phone to the phone jack or does it require the thermostat wire that is sold?............JB
Title: Re: Thermostat wire
Post by: jumptrout51 on August 05, 2010, 02:47:32 PM
Phone wire is OK.
Title: Re: Thermostat wire
Post by: Lotso on September 08, 2010, 10:24:14 AM
I always thought you needed at least 18awg solid wire for thermostats. So is there not as much voltage going to the thermostat because phone wire ranges from 22awg to 26awg, I would think the wires might not be able to handle that kind of load and melt if I was to use the 26awg.
Title: Re: Thermostat wire
Post by: Icehouse on September 15, 2010, 03:45:28 PM
I always thought you needed at least 18awg solid wire for thermostats. So is there not as much voltage going to the thermostat because phone wire ranges from 22awg to 26awg, I would think the wires might not be able to handle that kind of load and melt if I was to use the 26awg.
I personally would stick "Thermostat" wire. JMO
Title: Re: Thermostat wire
Post by: JWWebster on September 15, 2010, 08:00:24 PM
I have a ton of wire
Title: Re: Thermostat wire
Post by: shieldcracker on September 17, 2010, 09:35:15 PM
Telephone wire will work if the runs are short, otherwise use thermostat wire.