ApplianceJunk.com

Forum Index => Range, Oven & Cooktop Repair => Topic started by: kludge on June 13, 2012, 01:14:41 PM

Title: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 13, 2012, 01:14:41 PM
I'm replacing my smart board... but the photos of the WB27X10776 (which the GE site says is the correct part for my model) look different than my board.  Mine has more connectors and relays.  Does the replacement board ship with adapter(s) or an instruction sheet that explains how to install it in place of previous versions of the board?
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: AJ on June 13, 2012, 01:20:31 PM
GE Microwave Smart Board Part # WB27X10776

The above board looks different then yours?

Quote
Does the replacement board ship with adapter(s) or an instruction sheet that explains how to install it in place of previous versions of the board?

When you click on the photo or part number above it will take you to the parts page.
It does not show that it comes with instructions or adaptors so I would have to say no it don't come with it.

Maybe the replacement part is used in more then one model and has other plugs on the board for the different models.

What is the model number of your microwave?


Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 13, 2012, 01:54:34 PM
Here's what mine looks like:
(http://i1245.photobucket.com/albums/gg581/caeg16/Smartboard.jpg)

Seems I may have leftover plugs. :(

Main thing concering is the second large black relay labeled Lower Heater on the replacement board.  That relay is present on my current sub PCB, but not on the Smart Board.  Not sure if this will work or not.  I went ahead and ordered it.  I guess we'll see...
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 13, 2012, 01:55:33 PM
Oh... and my microwave is SCA1001KSS01
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: AJ on June 13, 2012, 03:08:03 PM
Oh... and my microwave is SCA1001KSS01

Just check the part number and you are correct, it's part # WB27X10776

Quote
Not sure if this will work or not.  I went ahead and ordered it.  I guess we'll see...

Let us know...
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: RegUS_PatOff on June 14, 2012, 08:14:16 AM
Here's what mine looks like:
are you sure yours isn't 220v SCA2000  ::)
(http://www.rcappliancepartsimages.com/dbImages/00002448/00736899.jpg)
 

 
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 14, 2012, 10:36:08 AM
Yes it is a 220V...but the sticker inside the door says SCA1001.  So THATS the problem.  GEeeeeze... :tickedoff:
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: RegUS_PatOff on June 14, 2012, 01:55:08 PM
 GE imagination at work  :rofl:
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 16, 2012, 08:06:59 AM
Well I got the correct board in today and installed it...but still no microwave  :(

Again, everything works fine but the magnetron does not come on.  The problem began after a lightning storm, and though we didn't lose power we may have had some surges.

Any ideas?  What components, other than on the smart board, could have been damaged? 
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 16, 2012, 08:42:45 AM
Additional info:  I checked the outlet and it's getting 220v.  When I start the microwave I hear a relay click after a second or two, but not the usual hum I hear when the magnetron is on.
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: AJ on June 16, 2012, 08:57:10 AM
I have never worked on a 220 Volt microwave.
Is this microwave in your home or is this a commercial unit that is in a restaurant or something?
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: RegUS_PatOff on June 16, 2012, 09:08:23 AM
Is this microwave in your home or is this a commercial unit that is in a restaurant or something?
made for home use.
Just faster and bigger Quartz Halogen cooking lamps
Prior to GE's Tri-vection series
I had one I bought used on eBay.
We didn't like the Advantium controls, too complicated for us and the kids..
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 16, 2012, 09:09:46 AM
It's in my home....way out in the country, else I would call a repairman.  If I can simply diagnose the failed part, I can replace it.  I downloaded service manual 31-9038, but it really doesn't show any detailed diagnostic procedures.
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: RegUS_PatOff on June 16, 2012, 09:15:35 AM
what's it not doing ?
 
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 16, 2012, 09:23:02 AM
Microwaving.  The convection heaters are working, as are the fans, the turntable, lights, controls...everything except it appears the magnetron isn't functioning.  If I could be sure that it's a bad magnetron, and not just a sensor or thermal cut-out, then I would replace it.  If only I could find a manual that had detailed diagnostics I could probably track down the problem.

By-the-way...I really appreciate you guys taking the time to consult with me on a Saturday morning... O0
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: tgoods on June 16, 2012, 11:14:11 AM
Check the primary side of the HV transformer for voltage.  Since this is a 240 vac microwave, I don't know if you should read 120 vac or 240 vac to the transformer.  But, it should read one or the other.  If no voltage, the problem is on the low voltage side; fuse, control board, tco or door switch. If there is voltage, the problem is on the high voltage side; HV transformer, HV capacitor, HV diode or magnetron.
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 16, 2012, 11:57:23 AM
Excellent guidance, Tgoods... that's exactly the kind of advice I'm needing.

Checking those voltages with the smart board connected will be pretty difficult though, with 10 cables in the way.  Can I disconnect the smart board and still get accurate readings off the transformer?
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: RegUS_PatOff on June 16, 2012, 01:20:18 PM
have you tested the HV Diode and the HV Capacitor ?
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: tgoods on June 16, 2012, 01:54:23 PM
Is there a tech sheet?  GE usually has it stashed around the control board somewhere.  I downloaded the same manual you did but it's for the 120v Advantium not 240v.  I did a reverse lookup on the HV transformer and it only fits the 240v Advantium models.  So, I assume the transformer primary voltage should be 240 vac. If I had a schematic, I could give better advice.
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 17, 2012, 08:54:24 AM
Here it is.  It appears that the Interlock Monitor Switch is in a very important location.  I guess it should be the first thing I check.
(http://i1245.photobucket.com/albums/gg581/caeg16/MWSchematic.jpg)
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: RegUS_PatOff on June 17, 2012, 09:06:04 AM
... It appears that the Interlock Monitor Switch is in a very important location.  I guess it should be the first thing I check.
no, that's a safety switch that, if stayed "closed" would blow the Fuse,
if stayed "open", the M/W would still work.
 
have you tested the HV Diode and the HV Capacitor ?
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 17, 2012, 11:25:12 AM
If this were a $500 microwave, I would just replace it and be done with it.  But it's a $1300 unit...and a HUGE job to de-install and re-install a new one.  So my question to any of you very kind experts is...

When I tear it apart again, which components should I replace that would pretty much guarantee that it would microwave again?

Please look at the schematic above, and note that I've replaced the Main PCB, and that everything works but the microwave function...and tell me what parts to replace.  I figure $500 worth of parts replaced, even if some weren't bad, is still a worthwhile investment, all things considered.

And again..thanks Very Much for your guidance thus far!!! O0
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: RegUS_PatOff on June 17, 2012, 11:33:11 AM
have you tested the HV Diode and the HV Capacitor ?

Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: kludge on June 17, 2012, 12:07:02 PM
have you tested the HV Diode and the HV Capacitor ?


No.  You are an expert.  I am not.  I do not relish the idea of using test leads inside a 220v appliance while it is energized.  I know it's pretty foolish to replace perfectly good components... but I would rather replace a transformer that didn't need replacing than risk frying myself and/or the appliance.  8) If you are quite confident that it is the diode and capacitor in the HV section that has failed...then I will replace them.
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: RegUS_PatOff on June 17, 2012, 01:09:26 PM
Capacitor can be tested without power using an OHM meter.
Diode can be tested using a 9v battery and an OHM meter.
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: tgoods on June 17, 2012, 07:51:28 PM
Interesting schematic.  Even though it's a 240 volt microwave, all of the components are 120 volt.  If your cooling fan and turntable work, you know you have power to that point.  Check for 120 vac from the blue wire at the fan relay to the red wires on relay2 on the control board.  If you have power there, you should have power to the HV transformer unless there is a break in the wire. If no power, check for 120 vac from the fan relay to the primary interlock switch.  It's the door switch with red wire and a brown wire with a yellow stripe. If you have power to the HV transformer, the problem has to be on the high voltage side.  Check your high voltage components. Unplug the microwave and discharge the HV capacitor.  Check the primary winding and both secondary windings of the HV transformer for continuity. You can check the HV diode with a 9 volt battery, you should read voltage in one direction and 0 in the other.  Check the HV capacitor with a capacitor checker.  If you don't have a cap checker use the resistance setting of your meter, you should see a jump in resistance that then immediately rises to infinite. If not, reverse the leads and try again.  The magnetron should have less than one ohm resistance between the two terminals and infinite to ground.  If everything checks good, replace the magnetron.
Title: Re: Advantium microwave smart board replacement help needed
Post by: JWWebster on June 17, 2012, 08:46:06 PM
I have seen a 220v microwave but it was commercial model with 2 mag's in it. It was used at fast food rest to heat. This one is the weirdest yet I have seen. Might just be a bad mag. It ain't shorted but it could be open. And since all microwaves basically come from the same source and that single one is getting a higher amp draw with the 220 source , I would be checking for continuity between the two terminals on the mag. Could be wrong. Have been before  :rofl: